Lupe, Looptey, Loopey

I got a bonus Yahtzee this weekend.  Can you believe it?

Then, tonight, I had to perform a one length haircut in class.  My model was Lluvia, the 6 year old daughter of the woman who does laundry at Bang, Lupe.  Poor Lluvia, didn’t want a haircut, and also did NOT want to sit still for an hour.  She was holding her little head at different angles the entire time I was trying to cut her hair.  I would position her head one way, and then by the time I had my scissors in place to cut, her entire body would be in a completely different position.  Or her entire body would be fallen out of the chair, which she thought was hilarious.  Sometimes we took breaks from sitting still to run some laps around the salon. This one length haircut was actually the hardest haircut I have ever done.  Luckily, I passed.

Two sideish notes.

1.  Lupe is short for Guadalupe.  Tonight I found out that Lupe went to Cosmetology school in Mexico, but didn’t go to class very much because “she was dating her boyfriend.” I call Lupe “Luptey,” but she knows that I know the pronunciation of her name is LoopAY.  The owner of Bang calls her Loopey.  I don’t know if he is being funny, or what he is being.

2. I’m finding out that people who are in the real hair world, not the hair school world, say scissors, and not shears, like the hair school people say.  I am thankful for this, because scissors is what they are.

One Response to “Lupe, Looptey, Loopey”

  1. evapauldesign Says:

    this was good to read.

Leave a Reply

