Rosie Thomas

I’ve been increasingly angry because Rosie Thomas has dropped herself off the face of the earth lately (no tour dates, no announcements of albums being made, no run-ins at Nordstrom, etc.) This is what she has been doing. So exciting. So exciting that I almost cried and jumped around my bathroom.

Rosie is my favorite because of the sound of her voice. Both her talking voice and singing voice. And I don’t care if you think that Rosie is faking her talking voice, I know that it’s real and you aren’t going to change my mind.  I love her voice, and I love it that she is so obviously comfortable with who she is, and that she uses her work to encourage other people and make them feel okay about where they are in life.  She says things at her shows like “I hope all of your lives are going really well, and if they aren’t, it’s okay! Next year will be better!” It sounds kind of trite coming from me, but from her it seems like brand new really good news. Also, at one point during her Christmas concert, she cut out a paper snowflake while singing (Silent Night?,) then held it up in the air above her head for the rest of the song.

Once, about a year ago, I was working at Nordstrom Kids Shoes, and I heard Rosie’s distinctive talking voice coming from the neighboring Infants and Toddlers department.  When I saw that she really truly was there,  I went in the back room, peed my pants, was reminded by my manager of the no-publically-addressing-celebrities-as-a-Nordstrom-employee policy, and went and told Rosie how I felt.

My heart was racing, and I was shaking, and then I started crying, at which point Rosie pointed out that she was just a girl wearing orange socks. Then, Rosie Thomas started crying. Because she understood me, and understood why I think that what she does is important. Because she thinks so too. Then she left, but came back about five minutes later because she wanted to give me something but all she had was trash in her purse so she gave me another hug.

And now I can’t stop smiling because I’m thinking about Rosie Thomas.

One Response to “Rosie Thomas”

  1. KirstenEva Says:

    i love you, and i love this story.

    that’s all.

Leave a Reply

